incatrail4days
Every 4-day permit trek to Machu Picchu, compared

Inca Trail
4 Days

One trail, 16 treks from $750. Km 82 to Machu Picchu in four days: 42–46 km, over Dead Woman's Pass at 4,215 m, three nights in tents, porters carrying your gear. February the trail is closed. Nearest open date on the trek we recommend: 18 Oct 2026.

Our pick · from
$798
from · per person
★ 4.9
592 reviews on GetYourGuide
Check datesCompare all 16 treks →
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Day 3 · stone stairs into the cloud forest
Same trail for all 16 — pay for what you'll feel
What's worth paying for on your four days?
Best for · Lighter packPanoramic train
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train

The porter carries 7 kg of your gear over 4,215 m, so you climb with a daypack. Most reviewed of all 16.

$750 · lowest of 16+$48 over the lowest$1,499 · highest
$798
from · per person
★ 4.9
592 reviews
Check dates →
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
At a glance · the six numbers that decide it
16treks compared — one trail, one permit system
$750lowest price per person, for two booking together
4,215mDead Woman's Pass, the top of the trail on day two
42–46kmKm 82 to Machu Picchu, depending on who measures
500a daypermits, including every guide, cook and porter
3nightsin tents: porters set camp before you arrive
Nearest open date · our pick
18 Oct 2026
Book ahead for May–September
5–6 months
Sell to one traveler
7 of 16 treks
See which trek to book →
If you don't want to compare — take this one

Inca Trail 4 Days: Which Trek to Book

★ Our pickPanoramic train
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train

Most reviewed of the sixteen and the most-reviewed trek that sells to a single traveler at the listed price. You get Circuit 1 and 3 inside Machu Picchu and the Vistadome home; the porter carries 7 kg. The trade-off: it's non-refundable, and the sleeping bag is a rental.

Trek comfort3 of 4
7 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentPanoramic train
Start
4:30 AM pickup
Cancellation
non-refundable
Nearest date
18 Oct 2026
Camps
Ayapata · Chaquicocha · Wiñay Wayna
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Compare all 16 treks →
Four days, one line — same on every trek

Classic Inca Trail 4 Days

Km 822,720 m
Wayllabamba3,000 m
Dead Woman's Pass4,215 m
Pacaymayo3,600 m
Second pass4,000 m
Phuyupatamarca3,650 m
Wiñay Wayna2,650 m
Machu Picchu2,430 m
See the day-by-day route →
Same trail, sixteen different insides

Inca Trail 4 Days to Machu Picchu: All 16 Treks Compared

Sort
16 of 16 treks match
★ Pinned: our pick
Panoramic trainOur pick
$798
from · per person
★ 4.9
592 reviews
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train

Guided Circuit 3 inside Machu Picchu and the Vistadome home, and it sells to one traveler. Non-refundable; the sleeping bag is a rental.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 1 & 3
Train back
Vistadome
Group max
up to 16
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort3 of 4
7 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentPanoramic train
● Sleeps at Ayapata · Chaquicocha · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Our review →
Train add-onCheapest
needs 2 travelers?
$750
per person · 2 minimum
★ 5.0
2 reviews
Cusco: Machu Picchu Inca Trail 4-Day Trek

The lowest price of all sixteen for two booking together. Only two reviews so far, and the train back is an add-on.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
add-on
Group max
up to 14
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort0 of 4· 2 not stated
No personal porterBag: add-onToilet tentTrain back
● Sleeps at Wayllabamba · Pacaymayo · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together
Our review →
Standard train
$780
from · per person
★ 5.0
2 reviews
Cusco: Amazing 4-Day Classic Inca Trail and Train

A guided tour of Machu Picchu, a 6 kg porter and free cancellation, and it sells to one. Only two reviews so far; the panoramic train is extra.

In Machu Picchu
guided tour (Temple of the Sun, Main Plaza)
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 13
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort0 of 4· 2 not stated
6 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentTrain back
● Sleeps at Wayllabamba · Pacaymayo · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · free cancellation up to 24 h
Our review →
Standard train
solo pays $1,605?
$823
advertised per person · $1,605 for one
★ 4.9
17 reviews
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Small Groups

Groups of 10 and free cancellation up to 24 h. Machu Picchu is a photo stop only, and a solo traveler pays almost double at checkout.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 1, panorama only
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 10
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort0 of 4· 1 not stated
5 kg porterBag: rentNo toilet tentTrain back
● Sleeps at Wayllabamba · Pacaymayo · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · free cancellation up to 24 h
Our review →
Panoramic train
$835
from · per person
★ 4.9
123 reviews
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail Guided Trek to Machu Picchu

The second most-reviewed trek: a guided Circuit 3 visit, a 7 kg porter and a private toilet tent, and it sells to one. The train back is Vistadome for bookings from March 2026, per the listing; non-refundable.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 3
Train back
Vistadome
Group max
up to 16
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort3 of 4
7 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentPanoramic train
● Sleeps at Ayapata · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 1 Nov 2026
Our review →
Standard trainNew
$885
from · per person
New
no reviews yet
Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 4 days/ 3 nights

A toilet tent in camp, free cancellation until the day before and it sells to one. No reviews yet; the sleeping bag is a $25 rental.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 12
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort1 of 4· 2 not stated
PorterBag: rentToilet tentTrain back
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · free cancellation up to 24 h
Standard trainNew
needs 2 travelers?
$909
per person · 2 minimum
New
no reviews yet
4-Day Inca Trail

Permit, Machu Picchu entrance and a guided tour are in the price. No reviews yet, two must book together, and you bring your own sleeping bag.

In Machu Picchu
guided tour (circuit not stated)
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 15
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort0 of 4· 3 not stated
PorterBag: bring ownToilet tentTrain back
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
Standard trainNew
needs 2 travelers?
$909
per person · 2 minimum
New
no reviews yet
4-Day Inca Trail

The same inclusions as its twin listing at the same price: permit, entrance and a guided tour. No reviews, two minimum, bring your own sleeping bag.

In Machu Picchu
guided tour (circuit not stated)
Train back
class not stated
Group max
not stated
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort0 of 4· 3 not stated
PorterBag: bring ownToilet tentTrain back
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
Standard trainNew
permit not in price?
$929
per person · 2 minimum
New
no reviews yet
From Cusco: Inca Trail 4Days 3Nights

The listing excludes the Inca Trail ticket and Machu Picchu entrance, so this price is not comparable with the rest. Two minimum, no reviews.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 15
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort0 of 4· 2 not stated
No personal porterBag: bring ownToilet tentTrain back
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
Standard trainNew
$976
from · per person
New
no reviews yet
Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail or Quarry Trail to Machu Picchu

One booking, two routes: the Inca Trail or the no-permit Quarry Trail. Porters carry a 5 kg duffel; 80% refund up to 56 days before.

In Machu Picchu
entrance to Machu Picchu (circuit not stated)
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 16
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort0 of 4· 3 not stated
5 kg porterSleeping bagToilet tentTrain back
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 17 Nov 2026
Standard trainSmall group
needs 2 travelers?
$980
per person · 2 minimum
★ 5.0
1 reviews
From Cusco: Classic Inca Trail 4-days to Machu Picchu

Eight people at most and the sleeping bag in the price. Two must book together; the Machu Picchu circuit is not stated.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
Expedition
Group max
up to 8
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort1 of 4· 2 not stated
PorterSleeping bagToilet tentExpedition train
● Sleeps at Wayllabamba · Pacaymayo · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
Our review →
Standard trainNew
permit not in price?
$985
per person · 2 minimum
New
no reviews yet
Inca Trail Tour - 4 days || Tour en grupo

The listing excludes the Inca Trail permit and Machu Picchu entrance, so this price is not comparable with the rest. Two minimum, no reviews.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 15
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort0 of 4· 2 not stated
No personal porterBag: rentToilet tentTrain back
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
Standard trainNew
$1,104
from · per person
New
no reviews yet
From Cusco: 4-day Inca Trail Trek to Machu Picchu

Expedition train back and a mattress for everyone, and it sells to one. No reviews yet, non-refundable, and the first open date was 1 Dec 2026.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
Expedition
Group max
up to 10
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort0 of 4· 2 not stated
PorterBag: bring ownToilet tentExpedition train
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 1 Dec 2026
Standard trainNew
needs 2 travelers?
$1,115
per person · 2 minimum
New
no reviews yet
Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 4 days

A porter for 6 kg of your gear and the permit in the price. No reviews yet, and two must book together; the sleeping bag is a $25 rental.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 16
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort0 of 4· 2 not stated
6 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentTrain back
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
Standard trainNew
permit not in price?
$1,200
per person · 2 minimum
New
no reviews yet
From Cusco: Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 4 Days 3 Nights

The listing excludes the Inca Trail and Machu Picchu entrance fees, so this price is not comparable with the rest. Two minimum, no reviews.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 15
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort0 of 4· 2 not stated
No personal porterBag: rentToilet tentTrain back
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
Train add-onNew
needs 2 travelers?
$1,499
per person · 2 minimum
New
no reviews yet
Premium Inca Trail Trek to Machu Picchu

Groups of 8 at most, a toilet tent and Machu Picchu circuit 1 B with a tour. The train back and the sleeping bag are not in the $1,499 price.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 1 B with tour
Train back
add-on
Group max
up to 8
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort1 of 4· 2 not stated
PorterBag: bring ownToilet tentTrain back
● Camps not stated
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together · reserve now & pay later
LOWEST / MOST / SMALLEST — best value in that column among shown treksGray = not stated by the operator · prices checked on GetYourGuide 26 Sep 2026
Choose by six facts, not a brand

Inca Trail 4 Days Best Company

Each criterion shows how our pick answers it.

We don't name operators on this site, and you don't need us to. Every 4-day trek on GetYourGuide walks the same 42–46 km with the same 500-permit cap; the price difference — from $750 to $1,499 per person — buys six things, and each one is written on the listing if you know where to look.

  1. What you get inside Machu Picchu. The permit gets you through the Sun Gate, but the visit itself is a separate ticket bundled by the operator. Some treks include a guided tour of Circuit 3 plus the upper panoramic path of Circuit 1; one lists the panorama only and charges extra for the guided walk through the citadel. Huayna Picchu is never included — it is a $75 add-on on one trek and must be booked months ahead on all of them.

    ★Our pick trekanswers: Circuit 1 & 3
  2. The train back. Vistadome, with its glass roof, is included on the two most-reviewed treks; others send you on the Expedition class, charge a supplement for the panoramic train, or list the train as an add-on you buy yourself.

    ★Our pick trekanswers: Vistadome (panoramic)
  3. Group size. From 8 to 16. Smaller groups walk at a more even pace; the two most-reviewed treks run groups of up to 16.

    ★Our pick trekanswers: up to 16
  4. Whether they will take you alone. Six of the sixteen sell to one person at the listed price. Nine require a minimum of two. One accepts a solo booking at $1,605 — nearly double the advertised $823 — and you will only discover that at checkout unless a site tells you first.

    ★Our pick trekanswers: sells to one traveler
  5. How much a porter carries for you. 5, 6 or 7 kg, and whether the sleeping bag and mattress are included, rented, or your own. Seven kilos with a bag included means you climb Dead Woman's Pass with a daypack; five kilos and a rented bag means you carry your own warmth.

    ★Our pick trekanswers: 7 kg · sleeping bag for rent
  6. What is left out. Tips, trekking poles and travel insurance are in the price on none of the sixteen, and eleven leave out lunch on day four. Read the excluded list as carefully as the included one.

    ★Our pick trekanswers: Huayna Picchu, sleeping bag, poles

The recommended trek scores three of our four comfort items — only the sleeping bag is a rental — and is the most-reviewed trek that sells to a single traveler at the listed price — that is why it is our pick, not because it is the cheapest or the most expensive. If your priority is the lowest price and you are two people, the $750 trek is honest value; if it is a group of eight with the bag included, pay $980. There is no wrong answer here — only a wrong assumption.

Compare all 16 treks →
Six rules that decide whether your date exists

Know Before You Book

500permits a day

Every guide, cook and porter counts, so roughly 200 trekkers start at Km 82 each morning.

Novrelease

Next year's permits go on sale month by month over about a week in November.

24–48 hJune – July

The peak months sell out first; April and May within one to three days.

Passportat booking

Your passport number goes on the permit. A mismatch at Km 82 means no entry.

No refundon most treks

The permit is bought in your name, so most treks are non-refundable.

Februaryclosed

The whole trail shuts for maintenance every February.

Read how permits and availability work →
What $750 buys and what $1,499 adds

Inca Trail 4 Days Price

◆ $750
Cusco: Machu Picchu Inca Trail 4-Day Trek
◆ $780
Cusco: Amazing 4-Day Classic Inca Trail and Train
◆ $798
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train
◆ $823
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Small Groups
◆ $835
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail Guided Trek to Machu Picchu
◆ $885
Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 4 days/ 3 nights
◆ $909
4-Day Inca Trail
◆ $909
4-Day Inca Trail
◆ $929
From Cusco: Inca Trail 4Days 3Nights
◆ $976
Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail or Quarry Trail to Machu Picchu
◆ $980
From Cusco: Classic Inca Trail 4-days to Machu Picchu
◆ $985
Inca Trail Tour - 4 days || Tour en grupo
◆ $1,104
From Cusco: 4-day Inca Trail Trek to Machu Picchu
◆ $1,115
Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 4 days
◆ $1,200
From Cusco: Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 4 Days 3 Nights
◆ $1,499
Premium Inca Trail Trek to Machu Picchu
Bar = where the from-price sits between $700 and $1,550 · pink = our pick · checked 26 Sep 2026
$700$1,550from-price per person · checked on GetYourGuide 26 Sep 2026
◆ $750
◆ $780
◆ $798
◆ $823
◆ $835
◆ $885
◆ $909
◆ $909
◆ $929
◆ $976
◆ $980
◆ $985
◆ $1,104
◆ $1,115
◆ $1,200
◆ $1,499
Up to $800
◆ $750Cusco: Machu Picchu Inca Trail 4-Day Trekpp · 2 min · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $780Cusco: Amazing 4-Day Classic Inca Trail and Trainper person · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $798Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Trainper person · hover for what the difference buys
$800 – $1,000
◆ $823From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Small Groups$1,605 for one · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $835From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail Guided Trek to Machu Picchuper person · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $885Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 4 days/ 3 nightsper person · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $9094-Day Inca Trailpp · 2 min · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $9094-Day Inca Trailpp · 2 min · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $929From Cusco: Inca Trail 4Days 3Nightspp · 2 min · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $976Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail or Quarry Trail to Machu Picchuper person · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $980From Cusco: Classic Inca Trail 4-days to Machu Picchupp · 2 min · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $985Inca Trail Tour - 4 days || Tour en grupopp · 2 min · hover for what the difference buys
$1,000 and up
◆ $1,104From Cusco: 4-day Inca Trail Trek to Machu Picchuper person · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $1,115Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 4 dayspp · 2 min · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $1,200From Cusco: Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 4 Days 3 Nightspp · 2 min · hover for what the difference buys
◆ $1,499Premium Inca Trail Trek to Machu Picchupp · 2 min · hover for what the difference buys
Compare what each price includes →
Pick a season, see your month

Best Time for Inca Trail 4 Days

JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Bar height = days with rain in Cusco (range of two climate averages; the trail's cloud forest is wetter) · color = season · tap a month for details
JuneDry peak
1–3days with rain in Cusco
Permits: gone in 24–48 h
Best forThe clearest skies of the year
Avoid ifyou dislike crowds at the Sun Gate

Dry peak. Clear mornings and the best chance of a view from the Sun Gate. June and July permits are gone within 24–48 hours of the November release.

Read the month-by-month guide →
What trekkers wrote — including a minus

Real Reviews

★ 4.9592 reviewsMachu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train★ 4.9123 reviewsFrom Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail Guided Trek to Machu Picchu★ 4.917 reviewsFrom Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Small Groups
AoifeIreland · 12 Sep 2026
“We traveled with our 3 children aged 9 to 15 and he managed to engage all of them. The food was delicious and varied and the cooks and porters are essential to the smooth running of the whole trip.”
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic TrainReview from GetYourGuide
Nicolas Daniel30 May 2025
Honest minus
“Everything was perfect except for the quality of the equipment; the tent and sleeping bag were not suitable for the temperatures we encountered.”
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Small GroupsReview from GetYourGuide
Toni31 Jul 2026
“The guides were outstanding, the food was incredible, the porters worked unbelievably hard, and the cooks prepared amazing meals.”
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail Guided Trek to Machu PicchuReview from GetYourGuide
Caitlin4 Sep 2026
“absolutely amazing! we ended up doing the salkantay trek instead of the inca trail due to the inca trail being closed. we were offered the salkantay trek as an alternative option.”
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic TrainReview from GetYourGuide
Reviews come from GetYourGuide. Each links to the trek it was written about.
Live dates for our pick
sells to one traveler · passport number needed at booking
Your month is gone — two honest options

Sold Out? Plan B

Different routeShort Inca Trail · 2 days
  • Starts at Km 104 on a separate permit pool that often stays open 2–3 months out
  • Reaches Machu Picchu through the Sun Gate
  • Not the classic four-day route
Compare 2 days vs 4 days →
Different routeNo-permit treks: Salkantay, Quarry Trail
  • No permit needed, so dates rarely sell out
  • Both end at Machu Picchu
  • Neither walks the classic Inca Trail
See treks without permits →
What the porter carries and what you do

Inca Trail 4 Days Packing List

The tour gives you (our pick)
4-person tent shared by two
Porter for 7 kg of your gear
Meals cooked in camp
Private toilet tent
Vistadome train back
Machu Picchu Circuit 1 & 3
You carry
The passport that is on your booking
Daypack with water and snacks
Rain shell and a warm layer
Head torch for the pre-dawn starts
Sleeping bag: rent or bring your own
Trekking poles: rent or bring your own
Cash for tips
Open the full packing list →
Straight answers first

Inca Trail 4 Days FAQ

42 to 46 km, or 26 to 29 miles, from Km 82 to Machu Picchu.

The total depends on where an operator starts counting and whether the walk inside the citadel is included.

Moderate to hard, because of altitude rather than distance.

Day two climbs about 1,200 m to 4,215 m, and day three descends more than 1,300 m on stone steps.

$750 to $1,499 per person on GetYourGuide, checked on 26 Sep 2026.

One trek advertises $823 but charges a solo traveler $1,605, and three listings leave the permit out of the price.

No.

Permits are issued only through licensed operators, and every trekker walks with a licensed guide.

Permits for a year go on sale in November, month by month.

June and July typically sell out within 24–48 hours; April and May within one to three days.

No.

The whole trail closes every February for maintenance, and any listing with February dates is selling a different route.

Yes, on six of the sixteen treks at the listed price.

Nine require at least two people, and one charges a single traveler nearly double.

5, 6 or 7 kg of your gear on the treks that state it; four sell a personal porter only as an extra.

Whatever is left goes in your daypack.

On one trek in our comparison, yes.

On most it is a rental or an add-on, so check the included list before you pay.

No.

It is a separate ticket, a $75 add-on on one trek, and must be booked months ahead on all of them.

Many 4-day treks are non-refundable because the permit is bought in your name.

Three offer free cancellation up to 24 hours before, and eight let you reserve now and pay later.

Check the 2-day Short Inca Trail from Km 104, which uses a separate permit pool, or a no-permit trek such as Salkantay or the Quarry Trail.

Both reach Machu Picchu; neither is the classic route.

The one we'd book
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train

Most reviewed of the sixteen, sells to one traveler, Vistadome home. Pick your date in the partner calendar below.

sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train
◆ from $798 · sells to one
Check dates