incatrail4days
Guides / /permits-availability/
Why dates vanish in November

Inca Trail 4 Days Availability and Permits

How the 500-a-day permit works, when it sells out and what to do when your month is gone.

See the trek we recommend →
Short answerPeru issues 500 Inca Trail permits a day, including guides, cooks and porters, and June–July dates sell out within 24–48 hours of the November release.
500a day
  • ≈200 are trekkers
  • released in November
  • February closed

Inca Trail 4 Days Availability — 500 Permits a Day, and What That Means for Your Date

Peru issues 500 Inca Trail permits per day, and that number includes every guide, cook and porter on the trail — so in practice roughly 200 trekkers start at Km 82 each morning. Permits are personal: your passport number goes on the booking, the date cannot be moved, and the permit cannot be transferred to anyone else. This is why every 4-day trek on GetYourGuide is non-refundable or refundable only until the operator buys your permit.

The trailhead sign at Km 82, where permits and passports are checked.

Permits for a calendar year go on sale in November of the previous year, month by month over about a week. In 2025 the release ran from 17 November (January dates) to 25 November (August–December). The peak months disappear first: June and July are typically sold out within 24–48 hours of release, April and May within one to three days. By the time most people start planning a Peru trip — three or four months ahead — the classic route in high season is gone.

The main thing

What this means for you. If your dates fall between May and September, plan to book five to six months ahead, and book the trek, not just the flight. If you are reading this in spring for a summer date, check the live calendar below first: the recommended trek still had open dates on 18 October 2026 when we last checked, but October is the tail of the dry season, not the peak. If your month shows nothing, the honest options are the 2-day Short Inca Trail from Km 104 — it uses a separate permit pool that often stays open two to three months out — or a trek that needs no permit at all, such as the Quarry Trail or Salkantay. Both reach Machu Picchu; neither is the classic four-day route, and we say so on every page where they appear.

One more thing operators rarely say out loud: a permit is one date and one name. If your passport is renewed between booking and departure, tell the operator immediately — a mismatch at the Km 82 checkpoint means no entry, and re-issuing the permit costs a fee — about $25 at the operator whose terms we checked.

Inca Trail 4 Days to Machu Picchu 2027

If the pattern of the last release holds, permits for 2027 will go on sale in November 2026, month by month over about a week, starting with January. We will add the exact dates when they are published. Until then, the practical rule stays the same: for May to September, book five to six months ahead.

One circuit per ticket

Many Machu Picchu tickets now cover only one circuit, and a second circuit needs a separate ticket. On the treks we compare, the recommended one includes the upper path of Circuit 1 and a guided walk of Circuit 3; another includes Circuit 3; one includes only the Circuit 1 viewpoint and sells the guided walk through the citadel as an extra re-entry ticket.

Passport
Details are required at booking, must match on the day, and the passport should be valid for at least six months after you enter Peru.
Group size
From 8 to 16 per group, depending on the trek.
When each month of 2027 goes on sale, and how fast it goes

Inca Trail 4 Days to Machu Picchu 2027 — The November Sale

Jan
no figureon sale 17 Nov
Feb
closedno permits
Mar
no figureon sale 18 Nov
Apr
1–3 dayson sale 19 Nov
May
1–3 dayson sale 20 Nov
Jun
24–48 hon sale 21 Nov
Jul
24–48 hon sale 24 Nov
Aug
no figureon sale 25 Nov
Sep
no figureon sale 25 Nov
Oct
no figureon sale 25 Nov
Nov
no figureon sale 25 Nov
Dec
no figureon sale 25 Nov
Bar height = how fast the month sells out (pink: 24–48 h · amber: days · green: weeks · hatched: closed). Pattern from the 2025 release (17–25 Nov); 2027 dates follow when they are announced. Sell-out speed is published only for April–July.
500 a day
≈200 trekkers
≈300 guides, cooks and porters
Every permit carries one name and one date. When a month shows nothing, the classic route is gone for that month.

Three Treks That Walk It Differently

Panoramic trainOur pick
$798
from · per person
★ 4.9
592 reviews
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train

Guided Circuit 3 inside Machu Picchu and the Vistadome home, and it sells to one traveler. Non-refundable; the sleeping bag is a rental.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 1 & 3
Train back
Vistadome
Group max
up to 16
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort3 of 4
7 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentPanoramic train
● Sleeps at Ayapata · Chaquicocha · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Our review →
Standard train
solo pays $1,605?
$823
advertised per person · $1,605 for one
★ 4.9
17 reviews
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Small Groups

Groups of 10 and free cancellation up to 24 h. Machu Picchu is a photo stop only, and a solo traveler pays almost double at checkout.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 1, panorama only
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 10
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort0 of 4· 1 not stated
5 kg porterBag: rentNo toilet tentTrain back
● Sleeps at Wayllabamba · Pacaymayo · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · free cancellation up to 24 h
Our review →
Train add-onCheapest
needs 2 travelers?
$750
per person · 2 minimum
★ 5.0
2 reviews
Cusco: Machu Picchu Inca Trail 4-Day Trek

The lowest price of all sixteen for two booking together. Only two reviews so far, and the train back is an add-on.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
add-on
Group max
up to 14
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort0 of 4· 2 not stated
No personal porterBag: add-onToilet tentTrain back
● Sleeps at Wayllabamba · Pacaymayo · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together
Our review →
Daily cap500permits, porters and guides included
Trekkers≈200start at Km 82 each morning
ReleaseNovembermonth by month over about a week
June–July24–48 hto sell out after release
Book ahead5–6 monthsfor May–September dates
Februaryclosedevery year, for maintenance

Inca Trail 4 Days Availability and Permits: FAQ

500, and that includes guides, cooks and porters.

Roughly 200 are trekkers.

In November for the following year, month by month over about a week.

June and July within 24–48 hours; April and May within one to three days.

No.

Permits are issued only through licensed operators.

No.

The permit is one date and one name, and it can't be transferred.

Tell the operator immediately.

A mismatch at Km 82 means no entry; re-issuing the permit costs a fee — about $25 at the operator whose terms we checked.

No.

The trail closes every February for maintenance.

The 2-day Short Inca Trail from Km 104, or a no-permit trek such as Salkantay or the Quarry Trail.

Live dates for the trek we recommend
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train
◆ from $798 · sells to one
Check dates