incatrail4days
Guides / /2-days-vs-4-days/
Km 104 or Km 82

Inca Trail 2 Days vs 4 Days

What the Short Inca Trail skips, what it keeps, and when it is the honest Plan B for a sold-out month.

See the trek we recommend →
Short answerThe 2-day Short Inca Trail starts at Km 104, walks about 12 km past Wiñay Wayna to the Sun Gate and sleeps in a hotel in Aguas Calientes; the 4-day trek walks 42–46 km from Km 82 over the 4,215 m pass and camps three nights.
12km
  • from Km 104
  • high point ≈2,720 m
  • a hotel, not tents

Inca Trail 2 Days vs 4 Days — What the Short Trail Skips

Both treks end the same way: through the Sun Gate and down into Machu Picchu. Everything before that is different. The 2-day Short Inca Trail starts at Km 104 (Chachabamba, about 2,150 m), climbs to Wiñay Wayna at about 2,650 m and reaches the Sun Gate at 2,720 m in the afternoon, after roughly 12 km and six or seven hours of walking. You sleep in a hotel in Aguas Calientes and visit Machu Picchu with a guide the next morning.

Start
Km 104 on the 2-day trek; Km 82 on the 4-day.
Distance
About 12 km against 42–46 km.
High point
About 2,720 m at the Sun Gate, against 4,215 m at Dead Woman's Pass.
Nights
One hotel night in Aguas Calientes, against three nights camping on the trail.
Sun Gate
In the afternoon of day one on the 2-day trek; at dawn on day four on the 4-day.
Permit
A separate Km 104 permit pool, often still open two to three months ahead; the 4-day trek needs five to six months for May–September.
The Km 104 sign at Chachabamba, where the 2-day trail starts.
The main thing

What the short trail skips. Dead Woman's Pass, the three camps, and the ruins of Llactapata, Runkurakay and Sayacmarca — the part of the classic trail most people remember as the trek itself. It keeps Wiñay Wayna, the Sun Gate and the walk down into Machu Picchu, which is why it is the honest Plan B when your month has sold out, not a smaller version of the same thing.

Short Inca Trail 4 days?

There is no short 4-day Inca Trail. The Short Inca Trail is the 2-day route from Km 104; the classic trail from Km 82 is the 4-day one. If a listing calls itself a short 4-day trek, read the start point — it is one or the other.

Price. GetYourGuide sells two 2-day listings, from $653 per person, against $750–1,499 for the sixteen 4-day treks, all checked on 26 Sep 2026. The gap is smaller than the difference in days.

How the two days compare with four

On the 2-day trek you walk for one day and sleep in a bed; on the 4-day trek you walk for four and sleep in a tent for three nights. The 2-day route never climbs above the Sun Gate at 2,720 m — lower than Cusco itself — while the 4-day route crosses 4,215 m on day two. Both reach Machu Picchu with a guide, and both need a permit booked in your name.

Three Treks That Walk It Differently

Panoramic trainOur pick
$798
from · per person
★ 4.9
592 reviews
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train

Guided Circuit 3 inside Machu Picchu and the Vistadome home, and it sells to one traveler. Non-refundable; the sleeping bag is a rental.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 1 & 3
Train back
Vistadome
Group max
up to 16
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort3 of 4
7 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentPanoramic train
● Sleeps at Ayapata · Chaquicocha · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Our review →
Train add-onCheapest
needs 2 travelers?
$750
per person · 2 minimum
★ 5.0
2 reviews
Cusco: Machu Picchu Inca Trail 4-Day Trek

The lowest price of all sixteen for two booking together. Only two reviews so far, and the train back is an add-on.

In Machu Picchu
not stated
Train back
add-on
Group max
up to 14
Travelers
2 minimum
Trek comfort0 of 4· 2 not stated
No personal porterBag: add-onToilet tentTrain back
● Sleeps at Wayllabamba · Pacaymayo · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
price for 2 travelers booking together
Our review →
Panoramic train
$835
from · per person
★ 4.9
123 reviews
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail Guided Trek to Machu Picchu

The second most-reviewed trek: a guided Circuit 3 visit, a 7 kg porter and a private toilet tent, and it sells to one. The train back is Vistadome for bookings from March 2026, per the listing; non-refundable.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 3
Train back
Vistadome
Group max
up to 16
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort3 of 4
7 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentPanoramic train
● Sleeps at Ayapata · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 1 Nov 2026
Our review →
StartKm 104vs Km 82 on the 4-day
Distance≈12 kmvs 42–46 km
High point≈2,720 mthe Sun Gate, vs 4,215 m
NighthotelAguas Calientes, vs three camps
Book ahead2–3 monthsoften enough, vs 5–6 months
On GetYourGuidefrom $653two 2-day listings

Inca Trail 2 Days vs 4 Days: FAQ

No.

The Short Inca Trail is the 2-day route from Km 104, and the 4-day trek is the classic trail from Km 82. A listing that mixes the two names is one or the other; read the start point.

Yes, if your dates are sold out or you have only two days.

It keeps Wiñay Wayna, the Sun Gate and Machu Picchu, but skips Dead Woman's Pass and the three camps.

No.

You reach the Sun Gate in the afternoon of day one and enter Machu Picchu by bus the next morning.

Yes, from a separate Km 104 permit pool, which is often still open two to three months ahead.

Easier than the classic trek: about 12 km with a high point near 2,720 m, against 42–46 km and 4,215 m.

GetYourGuide sells two 2-day listings from $653 per person, checked on 26 Sep 2026, against $750–1,499 for the 4-day treks.

Yes — it uses a different permit pool, so it often has dates when the classic trail doesn't.

Book it as a separate trek.

The 2-day trek suits younger children and anyone who shouldn't sleep above 3,000 m.

Listings for the 4-day trek set minimum ages from 5 to 16 years.

Live dates for the trek we recommend
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train
◆ from $798 · sells to one
Check dates