incatrail4days
Guides / /4-day-vs-5-day/
What an extra night changes

Inca Trail 4 Day vs 5 Day

What operators mean by a 5-day Inca Trail, what the extra night adds, and why every trek we compare is the 4-day version.

See the trek we recommend →
Short answerThe 5-day Inca Trail walks the same route from Km 82 under the same 500-a-day permit and adds one night — usually a hotel in Aguas Calientes and a second visit to Machu Picchu; GetYourGuide sells no 5-day version, so every trek we compare is the 4-day one.
+1night
  • same permit
  • same 42–46 km
  • not sold on GetYourGuide

Inca Trail 4 Day vs 5 Day — The Same Trail, One More Night

There is only one classic Inca Trail, and both versions walk it: Km 82, Dead Woman's Pass at 4,215 m, the Sun Gate at dawn. What changes is where the nights fall. The 4-day trek camps three nights and reaches Machu Picchu on the fourth morning. A 5-day itinerary adds one night, and operators use it in one of two ways.

Camp three
Wiñay Wayna, at about 2,650 m, on the 4-day trek. Many 5-day itineraries shorten day three and camp higher, near Phuyupatamarca.
After the Sun Gate
The 4-day trek visits Machu Picchu and takes the train home the same afternoon. The 5-day version usually adds a hotel night in Aguas Calientes and a second visit the next morning.
Permit
The same Inca Trail permit and the same 500-a-day quota. The fifth day doesn't open a separate permit pool, so it sells out on the same dates.
Distance
The same 42–46 km. The extra day is rest, not trail.
Price
Operators selling directly list 5-day group departures from about $940 per person, against $750–1,499 for the 4-day treks on GetYourGuide.
Wiñay Wayna, near the last camp of the 4-day trek.

Inca Trail 5 Days 4 Nights

A search for the Inca Trail 5 days 4 nights finds operators' own sites, not GetYourGuide: none of the listings we compare sells a 5-day classic trek. If you want the extra night, book it with an operator directly; if you book the 4-day trek here, you can still add a hotel night in Aguas Calientes yourself and buy a second Machu Picchu ticket separately.

The main thing

Who the extra night is for. Slower walkers, anyone worried about the altitude on day two, and people who want Machu Picchu twice — once tired, straight off the trail, and once rested, with the morning light. If you walk at an ordinary pace and acclimatize in Cusco first, the 4-day trek is enough — and it is the only version sold on GetYourGuide.

What stays the same

The permit rules, the February closure, the passport check at Km 82 and the need to book five to six months ahead for May to September apply to both versions. So does the high point: every classic itinerary crosses Dead Woman's Pass at 4,215 m on the second walking day, whatever the total number of days.

Three Treks That Walk It Differently

Panoramic trainOur pick
$798
from · per person
★ 4.9
592 reviews
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train

Guided Circuit 3 inside Machu Picchu and the Vistadome home, and it sells to one traveler. Non-refundable; the sleeping bag is a rental.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 1 & 3
Train back
Vistadome
Group max
up to 16
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort3 of 4
7 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentPanoramic train
● Sleeps at Ayapata · Chaquicocha · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Our review →
Panoramic train
$835
from · per person
★ 4.9
123 reviews
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail Guided Trek to Machu Picchu

The second most-reviewed trek: a guided Circuit 3 visit, a 7 kg porter and a private toilet tent, and it sells to one. The train back is Vistadome for bookings from March 2026, per the listing; non-refundable.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 3
Train back
Vistadome
Group max
up to 16
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort3 of 4
7 kg porterBag: rentToilet tentPanoramic train
● Sleeps at Ayapata · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 1 Nov 2026
Our review →
Standard train
solo pays $1,605?
$823
advertised per person · $1,605 for one
★ 4.9
17 reviews
From Cusco: 4-Day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Small Groups

Groups of 10 and free cancellation up to 24 h. Machu Picchu is a photo stop only, and a solo traveler pays almost double at checkout.

In Machu Picchu
Circuit 1, panorama only
Train back
class not stated
Group max
up to 10
Travelers
1 or more
Trek comfort0 of 4· 1 not stated
5 kg porterBag: rentNo toilet tentTrain back
● Sleeps at Wayllabamba · Pacaymayo · Wiñay Wayna
Book this trek
sells to one traveler · free cancellation up to 24 h
Our review →
Permitsame500 a day, one quota
Distance42–46 kmon both versions
Extra night+1a higher camp or a hotel
Machu Picchu1× vs 2×visits on the 4-day vs many 5-day
5-day pricefrom ≈$940group, booked with operators
On GetYourGuide4-day onlyno 5-day classic listing

Inca Trail 4 Day vs 5 Day: FAQ

Yes, sold by some operators directly.

It walks the same route from Km 82 and adds one night, usually a hotel in Aguas Calientes with a second visit to Machu Picchu.

No.

GetYourGuide sells sixteen 4-day classic treks and no 5-day version, so every trek on this site is the 4-day one.

No.

It uses the same Inca Trail permit and the same 500-a-day quota, so it sells out on the same dates as the 4-day trek.

A little.

The distance is the same 42–46 km, but day three is shorter and you have a rest night after the Sun Gate.

Neither changes the high point: both cross 4,215 m on day two.

Two nights in Cusco before the trek help more than the fifth day.

On most 5-day itineraries, yes — once on arrival and again the next morning after a hotel night in Aguas Calientes.

Operators list 5-day group departures from about $940 per person, against $750–1,499 for the 4-day treks on GetYourGuide.

Book 4 days if you walk at an ordinary pace and want to book on GetYourGuide; choose 5 days with an operator if you want a slower pace or a second Machu Picchu visit.

Live dates for the trek we recommend
sells to one traveler · nearest open date 18 Oct 2026
Machu Picchu: 4-Day Inca Trail Hike & Panoramic Train
◆ from $798 · sells to one
Check dates